Being Bibliophanzee – On Diversified Reading

If you search for this word ‘Bibliophanzee‘ in dictionary (online/offline, whatever you prefer) you would find no meaning. That’s because it’s not an officially recognized word but the product of idiotic mind. I chose or rather made this word for its phonetic similarity with amalgamation of ‘Bibliophile’ (\ˈbi-blē-ə-ˌfī(-ə)l) and ‘Fonzie‘.

While ‘bibliophile’ is essentially relevant with the context and the later is merely chosen for my love of ‘F.R.I.E.N.D.S.’ (referenced here – The One Hundredth). Don’t worry, I would somehow bring in the relevance to justify my word 🙂

[Do you think I’m an idiot?] My friend would say – No, of course you’re not but I am. Owning to my tiny vocabulary and futile searches to convey what I want to say, I turn to such absurdity for my own amusement. On the side note, you can suggest words to Oxford Dictionary for inclusion but its chances of acceptance would be very less. How about doing some language research prior to that?

So what is it for anyway? Simple, On diversified reading.

And what exactly is it? Simple, apart from how much you read, considering what the general sources that you read from, as well. Your reading obsessiveness analyzed over quantitative and qualitative parameters.

In our fourth semester ‘Thermodynamics‘ course, the professor suggested – while making the term papers, don’t just restrict yourself to Wikipedia. Do explore other websites, read research papers, look for forums & discussions and tonnes of other things. He was pretty sure that students would directly copy-paste the materials. Ironically Wikipedia articles themselves are compiled from various sources.

Brainpickings – An inventory of meaningful life – The epitome of diverse learning. Its a boon to bibliophiles. This is what I wrote about it back in December –

I’ve been receiving the Brain Picking’s newsletter for over 3-4 months. I have never really completed reading the whole newsletter yet. There in so much of information contained and even more embedded that if extracted properly, would render the reader a literary aficionado in few months.

All the articles are exquisitely connected but they establish their individuality gracefully over the topic. And not that these newsletters share the monotonous topics, it ranges over variety of genres. Its brain simulating.

brain_pickings_logo_print

The writer ‘Maria Popova‘ brings in the deeply researched stories about books, authors and topics spanning science, love, philosophy, music, art, history and what not. Its her tremendous selfless effort that brings us stories like ‘A Madman Dreams of Tuning Machines‘, ‘Psychology of time and the paradox of how impulsivity and self-control mediate our capacity for presence‘. Her podcast on ‘Design Matters‘ would give you further insight or probably watching her TED talk .

Pocket recommendations and Instapaper – If you get hand picked articles from all across the Internet, what’s wrong in that! Some articles are extensive, some are informative, some includes opinions while some argue about ‘why Google turning to Alphabet is a strategic movie in its favorable future‘. I oftenly share my significant-reading items on Twitter. So if you’re curious, you can most certainly have a look.

How diversified is your reading?

Yesterday I got the email from one of the Quora’s top writers whose newsletter I’ve subscribed to. Mostly (in fact always) its about Mechanical Engineering but yesterday he mentioned a book – ‘Man’s Search For Meaning – Vikto E. Frankl‘ which he read recently. It moved him so much. Well I’ve read that. Coincidentally I had mentioned about this book in my last post.

Inshorts – News in 60 words. Who has got the time to go through whole newspaper these days? If you’re in hurry, how about having a look at the headlines and summary. An amazing idea executed equally brilliantly, Inshorts restores your connection with the world in case you were quite possessed on your own.

inshorts_logo

Fews days ago while writing response to a comment on a blog, I wrote –

I need to get along with books again. The thing is though I read a lot throughout the day, it mostly consists of online articles, blogs, news, Quora, documentations and discussion on Q & A forums, etc. But it doesn’t seem substantial like when I finish a book.

It pinched me somewhere. After all, my activities were similar to what a bibliophile would do yet I wasn’t just reading books. ‘Bibliophanzee‘ is the answer to that. A healthy obsession to get your minds on not just one but other means that serves the purpose of meaningful reading.

Writer’s note: This post is a part of newsletter series ‘Swapping The Bits

6 thoughts on “Being Bibliophanzee – On Diversified Reading

Leave a Reply

